47 Ronin Released on Christmas Day

keanu-reeves-stars-in-new-trailer-and-posters-for-47-ronin-watch-now-146982-a-1382424121-640-904.jpg

Keanu Reeve’s movie “47 Ronin” got released on Christmas Day in the US.  For anyone who knows about the movie, it turned out to be a box office flop in Japan.  How do you think people will respond to it?  Will they give it a chance or pass?  Leave your feedback.

About wmckenzie95

I am passionate about travel and learning about other cultures. On my free time, I love to listen to music and watch movies. Some countries that I really want to visit are Japan and France.
This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 47 Ronin Released on Christmas Day

  1. Thanks for the comment. And I’m not surprised that the movie did poorly in Japan. The movie wasn’t made for the Japanese audience, so I understand that part, just like Memoirs of a Geisha had non-Japanese Asian actresses in lead roles. These movies are for American audiences who don’t know any better. What can we do?
    Makes me wonder if the Japanese actors involved in these productions ever have reservations about working on such projects?

    • wmckenzie95 says:

      Yup, you are absolutely right. Hollywood does not know any better. Nowadays, I find that foreign movies remade for an American audience are not as good as the original. For example, I saw the South Korean movie OldBoy directed by Park Chan-wook and thought it was great. When Spike Lee announced he was making it, I was shocked. Don’t get me wrong. Spike Lee is one of my favorite directors, but this was a mistake. Besides money, why do you think Hollywood likes remake foreign movies catering to an American audience? Obviously, something is wrong with this picture.

Leave a Reply

